Geographic Regions and Area Codes

Area Code 505 is a significant telephone area code in the state of New Mexico, covering the northwestern and central portions of the state. This area code includes major cities such as Albuquerque, Santa Fe, and Farmington. It spans a total of 54 cities and 13 counties, including Bernalillo, San Juan, Santa Fe, McKinley, and Rio Arriba counties. The area code 505 is one of the two primary area codes in New Mexico, the other being 575. Notably, Area Code 505 does not have any overlays, meaning it is the sole area code for the regions it covers.

Key regions within Area Code 505 include:

  • Albuquerque
  • Santa Fe
  • Farmington
  • Gallup
  • Los Lunas