Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Tennessee

Tennessee is divided into three primary geographic regions known as the Grand Divisions: East Tennessee, Middle Tennessee, and West Tennessee. Each region has its own unique characteristics and area codes, which are crucial for businesses operating in the state.

East Tennessee includes cities like Chattanooga, Knoxville, and Johnson City. This region is primarily served by the 423 area code.

Middle Tennessee encompasses cities such as Nashville, Murfreesboro, and Franklin. The primary area codes here are 615 and 629.

West Tennessee includes Memphis and Jackson, primarily served by the 901 area code.

Understanding these area codes is essential for businesses looking to establish a local presence in Tennessee.