Geographic Overview of Area Code 217

Area code 217 covers the central region of Illinois, encompassing 35 counties. Major cities within this area code include Springfield, Champaign-Urbana, Danville, Decatur, Jacksonville, and Quincy. This region is characterized by a mix of urban amenities and rural charm, providing a diverse living environment. The area code 217 is overlaid with area code 447 to accommodate the growing demand for telephone numbers. This overlay ensures that businesses and residents have ample access to phone services without disruption.

Key cities in Area Code 217:

  • Springfield
  • Champaign-Urbana
  • Danville
  • Decatur
  • Jacksonville
  • Quincy