Geographic Regions and Area Codes

Area Code 826 is a newly introduced telephone area code in the state of Virginia, USA. It covers a significant portion of north-western Virginia, including the Shenandoah Valley, the Roanoke metropolitan area, parts of the New River Valley, and the outermost parts of the Washington metropolitan area. Major cities within this area code include Roanoke, Harrisonburg, and Blacksburg. Additionally, it serves numerous smaller communities such as Bedford, Berryville, Buena Vista, Cave Spring, Clifton Forge, Covington, Fincastle, Floyd, Fredericksburg, Front Royal, Greenville, Lexington, Louisa, Luray, Madison, Mineral, Orange, Pulaski, Radford, Rocky Mount, Salem, Staunton, Warrenton, Waynesboro, and Winchester.

Area Code 826 coexists with Area Code 540 in the same geographic region. This overlay means that both area codes serve the same areas, and new telephone lines or services may be assigned numbers using either code. The implementation of the 826 area code began on June 14, 2022.