Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Alaska

Alaska is divided into five distinct geographic regions, each with unique characteristics and area codes:

  • Inside Passage: Known for its wildlife-filled fjords and lush island scenery. The primary area code is 907.
  • Southcentral: Home to more than half of Alaska's population, including Anchorage. The area code here is also 907.
  • Interior: Famous for Denali, the continent's tallest peak. The area code remains 907.
  • Arctic: One of the most remote and diverse regions, featuring unique wildlife. The area code is 907.
  • Southwest: A naturalist's paradise, known for its large gatherings of brown bears and rich birdlife. The area code is 907.