Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Arkansas

Arkansas is divided into five primary geographic regions, each with its own unique characteristics and area codes. Understanding these regions is crucial for businesses looking to establish a presence in the state. Here are the key regions and their respective area codes:

  • Northwest Arkansas: This region includes the southern half of the Ozarks, characterized by the Boston Mountains and the Springfield Plateau. Major population centers include the Fayetteville–Springdale–Rogers Metropolitan Area and Fort Smith metropolitan area. Area codes: 479.
  • Northeast Arkansas: This area lies east of the Ozark Mountains and north of Interstate 40, with Crowley's Ridge being more populated than the delta. Key cities include Jonesboro, Paragould, Forrest City, and Wynne. Area codes: 870.
  • Southeast Arkansas: Located east of Little Rock and south of Interstate 40, this region includes population centers such as Pine Bluff, Stuttgart, Monticello, Warren, and Crossett. Area codes: 870.
  • Southwest Arkansas: Known for its thick pine, hickory, and oak forests, this region includes the Ouachita National Forest. Hot Springs and Texarkana are notable population centers. Area codes: 870.
  • Central Arkansas: The most populated area in the state, with an estimated 2020 population of 748,031. Little Rock, the state capital, is located here. Area codes: 501.