Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Hawaii

Hawaii is a unique state composed of 137 volcanic islands, forming the Hawaiian archipelago. This makes it the only U.S. state entirely made up of islands and completely surrounded by water. The state is known for its tropical climate and diverse geography, which includes lush landscapes, volcanic craters, and extensive coastlines. Hawaii operates in the Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone, which is 10 hours behind GMT (GMT -10:00). The entire state uses the 808 area code, making it one of the few states with a single area code.

Major regions in Hawaii include:

  • Oahu (Honolulu)
  • Maui
  • Kauai
  • Big Island (Hawaii Island)
  • Molokai
  • Lanai