Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Massachusetts

Massachusetts is located in the northeastern United States, bordered by New Hampshire and Vermont to the north, New York to the west, Connecticut and Rhode Island to the south, and the Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Maine to the east. The state is divided into 14 counties and has 351 cities and towns. The primary biome of inland Massachusetts is temperate deciduous forest. The state operates in the Eastern Time Zone and has multiple area codes to support its communication needs. The major area codes in Massachusetts include: