Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Nebraska

Nebraska is a state with a diverse geographic landscape, covering just over 77,220 square miles. The state is divided into 93 counties and is split between two time zones: the majority of the state observes Central Time, while the Panhandle and surrounding counties observe Mountain Time. Nebraska is covered by two primary area codes: 402 and 531. Area code 402 encompasses almost the entire eastern half of Nebraska, including major cities like Omaha, Lincoln, and Bellevue. Area code 531 also covers Omaha, Lincoln, Norfolk, Superior, and most of eastern Nebraska.

Key facts about Nebraska's area codes:

  • 402 covers 49 counties, including Douglas County, Lancaster County, Sarpy County, Madison County, and Dodge County.
  • 531 touches 49 counties in total.