Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Oklahoma

Oklahoma is divided into several geographic regions, each with its own unique characteristics and area codes. Understanding these regions is crucial for businesses looking to establish a presence in the state. Here are the primary regions and their corresponding area codes:

  • Northeastern Oklahoma: This region is covered by the 918 area code, which includes major cities such as Tulsa, Broken Arrow, Owasso, Bartlesville, Muskogee, and Claremore. The 918 area code spans a 26-county region.
  • Central Oklahoma: The central part of the state, including Oklahoma City, is covered by the 405 area code. This area code was assigned in 1997 when the 918 area code was split.
  • Additional Area Codes: The 539 area code was introduced as an overlay for the 918 area code region in 2011. Another area code serving the state is the 572 area code.

These area codes are essential identifiers for businesses and residents, helping to streamline communication and services across the state.