Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Rhode Island

Rhode Island, the smallest state in the United States, is known for its diverse geographic landscape, encompassing urban, suburban, and rural areas. The state measures just 48 miles from north to south and 37 miles from east to west, with a total area of 1,214 square miles and over 400 miles of coastline. The primary cities include Providence (the state capital), Pawtucket, Central Falls, and Woonsocket. Rhode Island operates within the 401 area code, which serves all major cities and communities including Providence, Warwick, Cranston, Pawtucket, and Newport.

Key regions and their area codes:

  • Providence: 401
  • Warwick: 401
  • Cranston: 401
  • Pawtucket: 401
  • Newport: 401