Geographic Regions and Area Codes in South Dakota

South Dakota is located in the north-central United States and is typically considered part of the Midwestern region. It is bordered by North Dakota to the north, Nebraska to the south, Iowa and Minnesota to the east, and Wyoming and Montana to the west. The state covers a total land area of 77,116 square miles (199,905 km²). The entire state of South Dakota is served by a single area code: 605. This unified area code simplifies communication for businesses operating across the state.

Major cities and communities in South Dakota include:

  • Sioux Falls: The largest city in the state, located in Minnehaha County.
  • Rapid City: Located in Pennington County.
  • Aberdeen: Located in Brown County.
  • Brookings: Located in Brookings County.
  • Watertown: Located in Codington County.
  • Mitchell: Located in Davison County.
  • Yankton: Located in Yankton County.
  • Pierre: The state capital, located in Hughes County.