Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Wyoming

Wyoming is the 10th largest state among the 48 contiguous states in the U.S., covering a land area of 97,093.1 square miles ( It is bordered by Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Utah ( The state is known for its vast and diverse landscapes, including notable regions such as the Bighorn Mountains and the Grand Tetons. Wyoming operates in the Mountain Time Zone (GMT -07:00) ( The state uses a single area code, 307, which serves all its major cities and communities, including Cheyenne, Casper, Gillette, Laramie, and Rock Springs (