Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Connecticut

Connecticut is divided into several distinct regions, each with its own unique characteristics and area codes. Understanding these regions is crucial for businesses looking to establish a presence in the state:

  • Fairfield Region: Located in the southwestern corner and along the western shoreline of the state. Area code: 203.
  • Hartford Region: Known as the Insurance Capital of the World, featuring diverse urban neighborhoods and charming New England small towns. Area code: 860.
  • Litchfield Region: Often referred to as the Litchfield Hills, this northwest region is comprised of 21 towns, each with its own unique landscape and history. Area code: 860.
  • New Haven Region: Home to Yale University and renowned for its cultural and culinary offerings. Area code: 203.
  • New London Region: Tracing the southeastern shoreline, this region is rich in history, innovation, and trade. Area code: 860.
  • Middlesex Region: Known for its strong manufacturing and aerospace community, this region also boasts many of the state’s top tourist destinations along the Connecticut River. Area code: 860.
  • Tolland Region: Located minutes from downtown Hartford, this region offers a distinct country feel in north-central Connecticut. Area code: 860.
  • Windham Region: Often called “The Quiet Corner,” this region is quintessentially New England with its serene landscapes. Area code: 860.