Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Indiana

Indiana is divided into several geographic regions, each with its own unique characteristics. One notable region is Economic Growth Region 5 (EGR 5), which includes Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan, and Shelby counties. This region is home to nearly a third of Indiana’s workforce and includes Indianapolis, the state's most populous city. Indiana has eight telephone area codes: 219, 260, 317, 463, 574, 765, 812, and 930. The area code for Indianapolis is 317, and it also shares the 463 area code.