Geographic Regions and Area Codes in New Mexico

New Mexico is the fifth largest state in the U.S. by land area, covering 121,298.2 square miles. It is bordered by Arizona, Colorado, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah. The state is divided into various counties and small areas, with some counties having multiple small areas within their boundaries. New Mexico operates in the Mountain Time Zone, which is crucial for businesses to consider when scheduling operations and communications.

New Mexico uses two primary area codes:

  • 505: Covers Albuquerque, Rio Rancho, Santa Fe, Farmington, Gallup, Los Lunas, Las Vegas, Espanola, Grants, and Bernalillo.
  • 575: Covers Las Cruces, Roswell, Clovis, Hobbs, Alamogordo, Carlsbad, Deming, Artesia, Portales, and Lovington.

Understanding these area codes is essential for businesses looking to establish a local presence and improve customer communication.