Geographic Regions and Area Codes in Washington

Washington State is divided into two primary geographic regions: Western Washington and Eastern Washington. Western Washington, which includes the Seattle metropolitan area, has a mostly Mediterranean climate with mild temperatures and wet winters, autumns, and springs, and relatively dry summers. In contrast, Eastern Washington has a relatively dry climate, characterized by semiarid steppe and arid deserts due to the rain shadow effect of the Cascade Range.

Washington State operates in the Pacific Time Zone (PT), which is UTC -08:00 during standard time and UTC -07:00 during daylight saving time. The primary area code for Washington State is 206, which covers the Seattle metropolitan area. Other significant area codes include: