Geographic Coverage and Area Codes

Area code 917 covers all five boroughs of New York City: The Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island. This area code was introduced in 1992 and serves as an overlay for the existing area codes in these boroughs. The 917 area code overlays with several other area codes, including 212, 646, 332, 718, 347, and 929. Neighboring area codes include 201, 551, 516, 609, 732, 862, 973, 908, and 914.

New York City is a bustling metropolis with a high demand for telephone numbers, making the overlay of multiple area codes necessary. This ensures that businesses and residents have access to the phone numbers they need to operate efficiently.