Geographic Regions and Area Codes

Area code 680 is a relatively new addition to the North American Numbering Plan (NANP), serving the north-central region of New York State. This area code covers a significant portion of north-central New York, extending from the western side of Wayne County to Little Falls, north to the Canada–United States border, east to Massena, and south to near Cortland. It includes 16 counties: Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Oswego, Otsego, Saint Lawrence, Seneca, Wayne, and Yates.

Area code 315 overlaps with the 680 area code, serving the same geographic region. Nearby area codes include: